The clearest 2027 Zen 6 Ryzen map is AM5 for Olympic Ridge and Medusa1, plus FP10 for Medusa1 and Medusa2.
Published byEdited with GPT-5.6 LunaImages generated with GPT Image 1.5
Research answer

Create a landscape editorial hero image for this Studio Global article: What Zen 6 Ryzen processor families has AMD confirmed for 2027 across desktop AM5 and mobile FP10 platforms, including the Olympic Ridge and. Article summary: AMD has confirmed the platform mapping, not a complete 2027 Ryzen product specification. Its technical documentation identifies Olympic Ridge and Medusa1 for desktop AM5, and Medusa1 plus the smaller Medusa2 for mobile F. Topic tags: general, general web, user generated. Style: premium digital editorial illustration, source-backed research mood, clean composition, high detail, modern web publication hero. Use reference image context only for broad subject, composition, and topical grounding; do not copy the exact image. Avoid: logos, brand marks, copyrighted characters, real person likenesses, fake screenshots, UI text, readable text, watermarks, charts with fa
AMD’s Zen 6 Ryzen story is clearer on platforms than on products. Entries reported from AMD’s technical information portal associate Olympic Ridge and Medusa1 with the AM5 desktop socket, while Medusa1 and the smaller Medusa2 are associated with the FP10 mobile platform. 3
That is the useful confirmation. Core counts, graphics architectures, thermal targets, clocks, benchmarks, and retail launch dates are still largely the subject of reporting and leaks rather than final AMD specifications.
| Family | Platform association | Likely market role | What remains unconfirmed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olympic Ridge | AM5 | Mainstream and high-performance desktop Ryzen processors | Final SKU range, core counts, graphics, power ratings, clocks and launch date |
| Medusa1 | AM5 and FP10 | APU-oriented desktop chips and higher-tier mobile processors | Exact CPU configuration, GPU design, NPU features and power targets |
| Medusa2 | FP10 | Smaller, more efficient or lower-cost mobile derivative | Core mix, graphics, performance and power specifications |
The important distinction is that a platform listing is not the same as a complete product announcement. It identifies the families AMD is preparing or supporting, but it does not establish the specifications of every future Ryzen model.
Olympic Ridge is widely reported as AMD’s conventional Zen 6 desktop Ryzen family. Reports suggest that Zen 6 compute chiplets could scale to 12 cores per CCD, allowing a two-CCD consumer processor to reach 24 cores and 48 threads. 1
11
12
Those figures are not official specifications for a shipping Ryzen product. They describe the reported architectural ceiling, and the eventual lineup could include lower-core-count models. Reports also anticipate multiple cache configurations and possible 3D V-Cache versions, but AMD has not published a final Olympic Ridge product stack. 1
6
12
Reported desktop power figures around 65 W to 170 W should likewise be treated as estimates, not confirmed TDPs. 6
8
This remains unsettled. Some reporting says Olympic Ridge could remove the small integrated GPU and emphasize a discrete graphics card, while other coverage has described updated graphics capabilities in the Zen 6 I/O design. 4
7
12
AMD has not publicly specified the final Olympic Ridge graphics configuration in the material provided here. Buyers should therefore avoid treating claims about a removed iGPU, a particular Radeon architecture, or a dedicated NPU as settled facts.
Medusa1 is the most strategically significant family in the mapping because it appears on both AM5 and FP10. That suggests AMD is preparing an APU-style design that can serve desktop systems as well as mobile products. 3
Reports describe Medusa1 as more focused on integrated graphics and AI-related capabilities than Olympic Ridge. One widely circulated estimate puts mobile configurations at up to roughly 22 CPU cores, but the number and the combination of performance and efficiency cores have not been validated by AMD. 2
The graphics story is similarly incomplete. Medusa products are generally expected to place greater emphasis on integrated graphics than Olympic Ridge, but reports disagree over the precise Radeon generation and the configurations that will reach consumer products. 2
7
10
Medusa2 is listed only against FP10 in the reported platform entries. 3 That positioning points to a smaller or more efficiency-focused mobile family, but the available material does not establish its core count, GPU, NPU, power range, or performance level.
It is therefore too early to describe Medusa2 as a specific laptop, handheld, or entry-level product tier. Those are reasonable market interpretations, not confirmed product definitions.
AMD’s broader Zen 6 roadmap has been associated with TSMC’s 2 nm process, and reporting describes Zen 6 as a next-generation architecture intended for multiple product categories. 33
37
However, that does not prove a final consumer-Ryzen implementation will use one single process across every die. Claims of a specific combination such as a 2 nm compute chiplet paired with a 3 nm I/O die remain reported configurations rather than an AMD-published Olympic Ridge or Medusa specification. Reporting has also differed over the process technology used for particular Zen 6 chiplets. 5
14
The safest conclusion is that Zen 6 has a 2 nm roadmap association, while the die-by-die manufacturing details for these Ryzen families remain open.
The AM5 mapping is good news for owners of AMD’s current desktop platform. AMD’s own AM5 materials describe support for Ryzen 7000, 8000 and 9000 processors, plus “whatever comes next,” while retaining DDR5 and PCIe 5.0 platform features on supported boards. 21
That language supports the expectation of a future in-socket upgrade, but it does not guarantee that every existing AM5 motherboard will support every Zen 6 SKU. BIOS availability, motherboard power delivery, memory validation and the policies of individual board vendors can still affect compatibility.
In practical terms, an AM5 buyer should wait for a motherboard manufacturer’s CPU support list rather than assuming that a socket match alone guarantees support.
There are no official Zen 6 Ryzen figures in the provided material for IPC, boost clocks, gaming performance, graphics performance, NPU throughput or efficiency. A reported increase to 12 cores per CCD could expand the desktop range to 24 cores, but core count is not a direct performance result. 1
11
12
The same caution applies to claims that Medusa will deliver a particular level of integrated-graphics performance. Without final specifications and independent testing, those comparisons remain projections.
Reports commonly place Olympic Ridge and Medusa-branded consumer products in 2027, with some pointing to an early-year or CES announcement window. 5
7
8 AMD has not provided a confirmed retail launch date for each family in the supplied sources.
There is also a timeline distinction to keep in mind: AMD’s earlier architecture roadmap has been reported as placing Zen 6 itself in 2026, while separate APU and product reporting places Medusa products in 2027. 33
37
40 Architecture availability, product announcements and retail launches are not necessarily the same event.
The expected desktop comparison is Olympic Ridge against Intel’s Nova Lake-S. Some reports attribute up to 52 total heterogeneous cores to Nova Lake-S, compared with a reported ceiling of 24 conventional Zen 6 cores for Olympic Ridge. 9
11
13
Those numbers are not directly comparable: Intel’s figure is described as a heterogeneous total, while Olympic Ridge’s reported figure refers to high-performance Zen 6 cores. More importantly, no independent Zen 6-versus-Nova Lake benchmarks are available in the supplied material. Any claim that one platform will definitively win gaming, productivity or efficiency is premature.
The strongest current conclusion is the platform matrix:
Olympic Ridge is expected to be the mainstream desktop Zen 6 family, with reports pointing to as many as 24 cores in a two-CCD configuration. Medusa1 appears to bridge desktop APUs and higher-tier mobile systems, while Medusa2 is positioned as an FP10-only mobile design. But AMD has not yet finalized the details that matter most to buyers: exact models, graphics, power, performance, compatibility lists and launch dates.
Studio Global AI
This page includes a source-backed answer you can continue inside Studio Global.
The clearest 2027 Zen 6 Ryzen map is AM5 for Olympic Ridge and Medusa1, plus FP10 for Medusa1 and Medusa2.
The clearest 2027 Zen 6 Ryzen map is AM5 for Olympic Ridge and Medusa1, plus FP10 for Medusa1 and Medusa2.
Published byEdited with GPT-5.6 LunaImages generated with GPT Image 1.5
Research answer

Create a landscape editorial hero image for this Studio Global article: What Zen 6 Ryzen processor families has AMD confirmed for 2027 across desktop AM5 and mobile FP10 platforms, including the Olympic Ridge and. Article summary: AMD has confirmed the platform mapping, not a complete 2027 Ryzen product specification. Its technical documentation identifies Olympic Ridge and Medusa1 for desktop AM5, and Medusa1 plus the smaller Medusa2 for mobile F. Topic tags: general, general web, user generated. Style: premium digital editorial illustration, source-backed research mood, clean composition, high detail, modern web publication hero. Use reference image context only for broad subject, composition, and topical grounding; do not copy the exact image. Avoid: logos, brand marks, copyrighted characters, real person likenesses, fake screenshots, UI text, readable text, watermarks, charts with fa
AMD’s Zen 6 Ryzen story is clearer on platforms than on products. Entries reported from AMD’s technical information portal associate Olympic Ridge and Medusa1 with the AM5 desktop socket, while Medusa1 and the smaller Medusa2 are associated with the FP10 mobile platform. 3
That is the useful confirmation. Core counts, graphics architectures, thermal targets, clocks, benchmarks, and retail launch dates are still largely the subject of reporting and leaks rather than final AMD specifications.
| Family | Platform association | Likely market role | What remains unconfirmed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olympic Ridge | AM5 | Mainstream and high-performance desktop Ryzen processors | Final SKU range, core counts, graphics, power ratings, clocks and launch date |
| Medusa1 | AM5 and FP10 | APU-oriented desktop chips and higher-tier mobile processors | Exact CPU configuration, GPU design, NPU features and power targets |
| Medusa2 | FP10 | Smaller, more efficient or lower-cost mobile derivative | Core mix, graphics, performance and power specifications |
The important distinction is that a platform listing is not the same as a complete product announcement. It identifies the families AMD is preparing or supporting, but it does not establish the specifications of every future Ryzen model.
Olympic Ridge is widely reported as AMD’s conventional Zen 6 desktop Ryzen family. Reports suggest that Zen 6 compute chiplets could scale to 12 cores per CCD, allowing a two-CCD consumer processor to reach 24 cores and 48 threads. 1
11
12
Those figures are not official specifications for a shipping Ryzen product. They describe the reported architectural ceiling, and the eventual lineup could include lower-core-count models. Reports also anticipate multiple cache configurations and possible 3D V-Cache versions, but AMD has not published a final Olympic Ridge product stack. 1
6
12
Reported desktop power figures around 65 W to 170 W should likewise be treated as estimates, not confirmed TDPs. 6
8
This remains unsettled. Some reporting says Olympic Ridge could remove the small integrated GPU and emphasize a discrete graphics card, while other coverage has described updated graphics capabilities in the Zen 6 I/O design. 4
7
12
AMD has not publicly specified the final Olympic Ridge graphics configuration in the material provided here. Buyers should therefore avoid treating claims about a removed iGPU, a particular Radeon architecture, or a dedicated NPU as settled facts.
Medusa1 is the most strategically significant family in the mapping because it appears on both AM5 and FP10. That suggests AMD is preparing an APU-style design that can serve desktop systems as well as mobile products. 3
Reports describe Medusa1 as more focused on integrated graphics and AI-related capabilities than Olympic Ridge. One widely circulated estimate puts mobile configurations at up to roughly 22 CPU cores, but the number and the combination of performance and efficiency cores have not been validated by AMD. 2
The graphics story is similarly incomplete. Medusa products are generally expected to place greater emphasis on integrated graphics than Olympic Ridge, but reports disagree over the precise Radeon generation and the configurations that will reach consumer products. 2
7
10
Medusa2 is listed only against FP10 in the reported platform entries. 3 That positioning points to a smaller or more efficiency-focused mobile family, but the available material does not establish its core count, GPU, NPU, power range, or performance level.
It is therefore too early to describe Medusa2 as a specific laptop, handheld, or entry-level product tier. Those are reasonable market interpretations, not confirmed product definitions.
AMD’s broader Zen 6 roadmap has been associated with TSMC’s 2 nm process, and reporting describes Zen 6 as a next-generation architecture intended for multiple product categories. 33
37
However, that does not prove a final consumer-Ryzen implementation will use one single process across every die. Claims of a specific combination such as a 2 nm compute chiplet paired with a 3 nm I/O die remain reported configurations rather than an AMD-published Olympic Ridge or Medusa specification. Reporting has also differed over the process technology used for particular Zen 6 chiplets. 5
14
The safest conclusion is that Zen 6 has a 2 nm roadmap association, while the die-by-die manufacturing details for these Ryzen families remain open.
The AM5 mapping is good news for owners of AMD’s current desktop platform. AMD’s own AM5 materials describe support for Ryzen 7000, 8000 and 9000 processors, plus “whatever comes next,” while retaining DDR5 and PCIe 5.0 platform features on supported boards. 21
That language supports the expectation of a future in-socket upgrade, but it does not guarantee that every existing AM5 motherboard will support every Zen 6 SKU. BIOS availability, motherboard power delivery, memory validation and the policies of individual board vendors can still affect compatibility.
In practical terms, an AM5 buyer should wait for a motherboard manufacturer’s CPU support list rather than assuming that a socket match alone guarantees support.
There are no official Zen 6 Ryzen figures in the provided material for IPC, boost clocks, gaming performance, graphics performance, NPU throughput or efficiency. A reported increase to 12 cores per CCD could expand the desktop range to 24 cores, but core count is not a direct performance result. 1
11
12
The same caution applies to claims that Medusa will deliver a particular level of integrated-graphics performance. Without final specifications and independent testing, those comparisons remain projections.
Reports commonly place Olympic Ridge and Medusa-branded consumer products in 2027, with some pointing to an early-year or CES announcement window. 5
7
8 AMD has not provided a confirmed retail launch date for each family in the supplied sources.
There is also a timeline distinction to keep in mind: AMD’s earlier architecture roadmap has been reported as placing Zen 6 itself in 2026, while separate APU and product reporting places Medusa products in 2027. 33
37
40 Architecture availability, product announcements and retail launches are not necessarily the same event.
The expected desktop comparison is Olympic Ridge against Intel’s Nova Lake-S. Some reports attribute up to 52 total heterogeneous cores to Nova Lake-S, compared with a reported ceiling of 24 conventional Zen 6 cores for Olympic Ridge. 9
11
13
Those numbers are not directly comparable: Intel’s figure is described as a heterogeneous total, while Olympic Ridge’s reported figure refers to high-performance Zen 6 cores. More importantly, no independent Zen 6-versus-Nova Lake benchmarks are available in the supplied material. Any claim that one platform will definitively win gaming, productivity or efficiency is premature.
The strongest current conclusion is the platform matrix:
Olympic Ridge is expected to be the mainstream desktop Zen 6 family, with reports pointing to as many as 24 cores in a two-CCD configuration. Medusa1 appears to bridge desktop APUs and higher-tier mobile systems, while Medusa2 is positioned as an FP10-only mobile design. But AMD has not yet finalized the details that matter most to buyers: exact models, graphics, power, performance, compatibility lists and launch dates.
Studio Global AI
This page includes a source-backed answer you can continue inside Studio Global.
The clearest 2027 Zen 6 Ryzen map is AM5 for Olympic Ridge and Medusa1, plus FP10 for Medusa1 and Medusa2.