At OCP 2026, Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning are demonstrating a PCIe over optics proof of concept using 1060 nm VCSEL technology, multimode fiber and Astera’s Scorpio switch. The companies’ reported roles are distinct: Lumentum supplies the optical interconnect platform, Corning the multimode fiber connectivity,...
Published byEdited with GPT-6 LunaImages generated with GPT Image 2
Research answer

Create a landscape editorial hero image for this Studio Global article: What are Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning jointly demonstrating at the October 12–15, 2026 OCP Global Summit at the San Jose Convention Cen. Article summary: Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning have announced a joint rack-level proof-of-concept demonstrating 1060 nm VCSEL-based PCIe-over-optics connectivity for AI rack-scale systems at the October 12–15, 2026 OCP Global Summit . Topic tags: general, general web, user generated. Style: premium digital editorial illustration, source-backed research mood, clean composition, high detail, modern web publication hero. Use reference image context only for broad subject, composition, and topical grounding; do not copy the exact image. Avoid: logos, brand marks, copyrighted characters, real person likenesses, fake screenshots, UI text, readable text, watermarks, charts with fa
Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning are showcasing a rack-level proof of concept for carrying PCIe connections over optical links, aimed at AI rack-scale systems. The setup combines Lumentum’s 1060 nm VCSEL-based optical interconnect platform, Corning multimode fiber connectivity and Astera Labs’ Scorpio Smart Fabric Switch. Reports describe multiple 32 Gb/s optical channels and an error-free PCIe 5 link, but the available accounts do not provide enough test detail to independently assess that performance claim. 2
11
12
25
26
Together, the components demonstrate an optical route for PCIe connectivity in a rack-scale system. The reported 32 Gb/s figure refers to optical channels; it should not be confused with a claim that the PCIe 5 link itself runs at 32 Gb/s. The “error-free” description is a reported demonstration result, not a guarantee of operation in every deployment. The available material does not specify details such as link distance, test duration or error-rate limits. 25
26
The companies describe the proof of concept as extending PCIe connectivity for AI rack-scale architectures using optics. In practical terms, it brings together a switch, optical interconnect and fiber in one rack-level demonstration rather than describing an optical component in isolation. 2
11
12
The provided announcements do not quantify where this approach would outperform copper or specify a target distance, power saving or deployment scale. Those details would be needed to judge how the demonstration could address connectivity needs as AI systems expand.
A separate announcement said Lumentum, Qualcomm and Corning planned to demonstrate high-density 1060 nm VCSEL optical die-to-die connectivity for AI scale-up at ECOC 2026. That announcement describes a related optical-connectivity effort, but the available information does not establish that the ECOC and OCP demonstrations use the same hardware or architecture. 3
Astera Labs lists its OCP Global Summit exhibit at Booth B34 at the San Jose Convention Center from October 12–15, 2026. Its event page describes a broader rack-scale connectivity showcase that includes copper and optical signal conditioning. 38
Lumentum’s announced summit program covers external laser sources for co-packaged optics, VCSEL technologies and optical switching fabrics for AI networks. The provided event information supports those broad topics, but does not substantiate every session detail mentioned in earlier summaries. 1
42
Studio Global AI
This page includes a source-backed answer you can continue inside Studio Global.
At OCP 2026, Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning are demonstrating a PCIe over optics proof of concept using 1060 nm VCSEL technology, multimode fiber and Astera’s Scorpio switch.
At OCP 2026, Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning are demonstrating a PCIe over optics proof of concept using 1060 nm VCSEL technology, multimode fiber and Astera’s Scorpio switch. The companies’ reported roles are distinct: Lumentum supplies the optical interconnect platform, Corning the multimode fiber connectivity, and Astera Labs the Scorpio Smart Fabric Switch.
The demonstration is at Astera Labs’ Booth B34; Lumentum is also presenting on co packaged optics, VCSELs and optical switching.
At OCP 2026, Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning are demonstrating a PCIe over optics proof of concept using 1060 nm VCSEL technology, multimode fiber and Astera’s Scorpio switch. The companies’ reported roles are distinct: Lumentum supplies the optical interconnect platform, Corning the multimode fiber connectivity,...
Published byEdited with GPT-6 LunaImages generated with GPT Image 2
Research answer

Create a landscape editorial hero image for this Studio Global article: What are Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning jointly demonstrating at the October 12–15, 2026 OCP Global Summit at the San Jose Convention Cen. Article summary: Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning have announced a joint rack-level proof-of-concept demonstrating 1060 nm VCSEL-based PCIe-over-optics connectivity for AI rack-scale systems at the October 12–15, 2026 OCP Global Summit . Topic tags: general, general web, user generated. Style: premium digital editorial illustration, source-backed research mood, clean composition, high detail, modern web publication hero. Use reference image context only for broad subject, composition, and topical grounding; do not copy the exact image. Avoid: logos, brand marks, copyrighted characters, real person likenesses, fake screenshots, UI text, readable text, watermarks, charts with fa
Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning are showcasing a rack-level proof of concept for carrying PCIe connections over optical links, aimed at AI rack-scale systems. The setup combines Lumentum’s 1060 nm VCSEL-based optical interconnect platform, Corning multimode fiber connectivity and Astera Labs’ Scorpio Smart Fabric Switch. Reports describe multiple 32 Gb/s optical channels and an error-free PCIe 5 link, but the available accounts do not provide enough test detail to independently assess that performance claim. 2
11
12
25
26
Together, the components demonstrate an optical route for PCIe connectivity in a rack-scale system. The reported 32 Gb/s figure refers to optical channels; it should not be confused with a claim that the PCIe 5 link itself runs at 32 Gb/s. The “error-free” description is a reported demonstration result, not a guarantee of operation in every deployment. The available material does not specify details such as link distance, test duration or error-rate limits. 25
26
The companies describe the proof of concept as extending PCIe connectivity for AI rack-scale architectures using optics. In practical terms, it brings together a switch, optical interconnect and fiber in one rack-level demonstration rather than describing an optical component in isolation. 2
11
12
The provided announcements do not quantify where this approach would outperform copper or specify a target distance, power saving or deployment scale. Those details would be needed to judge how the demonstration could address connectivity needs as AI systems expand.
A separate announcement said Lumentum, Qualcomm and Corning planned to demonstrate high-density 1060 nm VCSEL optical die-to-die connectivity for AI scale-up at ECOC 2026. That announcement describes a related optical-connectivity effort, but the available information does not establish that the ECOC and OCP demonstrations use the same hardware or architecture. 3
Astera Labs lists its OCP Global Summit exhibit at Booth B34 at the San Jose Convention Center from October 12–15, 2026. Its event page describes a broader rack-scale connectivity showcase that includes copper and optical signal conditioning. 38
Lumentum’s announced summit program covers external laser sources for co-packaged optics, VCSEL technologies and optical switching fabrics for AI networks. The provided event information supports those broad topics, but does not substantiate every session detail mentioned in earlier summaries. 1
42
Studio Global AI
This page includes a source-backed answer you can continue inside Studio Global.
At OCP 2026, Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning are demonstrating a PCIe over optics proof of concept using 1060 nm VCSEL technology, multimode fiber and Astera’s Scorpio switch.
At OCP 2026, Lumentum, Astera Labs and Corning are demonstrating a PCIe over optics proof of concept using 1060 nm VCSEL technology, multimode fiber and Astera’s Scorpio switch. The companies’ reported roles are distinct: Lumentum supplies the optical interconnect platform, Corning the multimode fiber connectivity, and Astera Labs the Scorpio Smart Fabric Switch.
The demonstration is at Astera Labs’ Booth B34; Lumentum is also presenting on co packaged optics, VCSELs and optical switching.