MiMo V2.6 Pro is reported to lead the Artificial Analysis open weight ranking at 46.32, while Flash is priced at roughly one third of Pro’s token rates. Pro has 1.02 trillion total parameters with 42 billion active per token; Flash has roughly 309 billion total and 15 billion active.
Published byEdited with GPT-5.6 TerraImages generated with GPT Image 2
Research answer

Create a landscape editorial hero image for this Studio Global article: How did Xiaomi’s September 21–22, 2026 release of the MIT-licensed MiMo‑V2.6 open-weight multimodal models—Pro (1.02 trillion total/42 billi. Article summary: MiMo‑V2.6 is a technically significant open-weight release: Pro appears to be the strongest open-weight model on the available independent aggregate ranking, while Flash offers much of the capability at substantially low. Topic tags: general, general web, user generated, news. Style: premium digital editorial illustration, source-backed research mood, clean composition, high detail, modern web publication hero. Use reference image context only for broad subject, composition, and topical grounding; do not copy the exact image. Avoid: logos, brand marks, copyrighted characters, real person likenesses, fake screenshots, UI text, readable text, watermarks, charts w
Xiaomi’s MiMo-V2.6 release makes a serious case for open-weight AI in agentic and multimodal development. Its flagship Pro model combines a large sparse mixture-of-experts architecture with low published API rates, while Flash targets much lower-cost serving. Yet capability and licensing are only part of an enterprise decision: allegations that Xiaomi used Claude outputs in unauthorized distillation create unresolved questions about training-data provenance, legal exposure, and evaluation integrity.
Xiaomi published downloadable MiMo-V2.6-Pro-RL and MiMo-V2.6-Flash-RL checkpoints, with the repositories listing the MIT license. The company also released MiMo-V2.6-Distill-Qwen-9B, described as a 9B agentic model created by supervised fine-tuning of Qwen3.5-9B on MiMo-generated data. 2
4
5
The two larger models are presented as omnimodal systems that accept text, images, video, and audio, with a claimed context window of up to 1 million tokens. Pro is a sparse MoE model with 1.02 trillion total parameters and 42 billion activated per token. Flash has about 309 billion total parameters and 15 billion active per token. 3
MIT licensing gives users broad permission to use and modify the released artifacts. It does not, by itself, establish the provenance of every training input or synthetic output used upstream, nor does it resolve third-party IP or compliance claims.
Reports place MiMo-V2.6-Pro at 46.32 on Artificial Analysis’ Intelligence Index v4.3, level with Grok 4.7 in that reported comparison and at the top of the cited open-weight ranking. That is a meaningful external signal, but it remains a composite index rather than proof of performance on an organization’s own data, languages, latency constraints, safety policies, or long-context workloads. 23
24
Xiaomi’s own model materials also report strong coding and agent results. In the technical report’s DeepSWE v1.1 reinforcement-learning results, Pro’s average@3 score rose from 58.4 to 72.6, while Flash rose from 48.7 to 65.7. DeepSWE v1.1 covers 113 repository-engineering tasks evaluated with functional verifiers; average@3 is the average pass rate across three sampled attempts. 10
Those results are useful, but they should be interpreted as vendor-reported evidence until independently reproduced. A deployment decision should rely on blind testing against private holdouts and production-like tasks—not on a leaderboard alone.
| Model | Architecture scale | Published API price per 1M input tokens | Published API price per 1M output tokens | Practical role |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MiMo-V2.6-Pro | 1.02T total / 42B active | $0.435 | $0.87 | Highest-capability option for difficult agentic and engineering evaluation |
| MiMo-V2.6-Flash | About 309B total / 15B active | $0.14 | $0.28 | Higher-volume experimentation and cost-sensitive workloads |
The published Flash rates are roughly one-third of Pro’s rates for both fresh input and output tokens. 20 That makes Flash the practical first model to test when workload volume matters more than extracting the last increment of benchmark performance.
Self-hosting changes the calculation. Open weights can provide portability and tighter data control, but organizations must then absorb GPU capacity, storage, inference operations, monitoring, patching, and support costs. The lowest token price is not necessarily the lowest total cost of ownership.
The release included public checkpoints and a technical report. Reporting on Xiaomi’s disclosed reinforcement-learning runs says both large models completed 30 RL steps across roughly 750,000 trajectories. Xiaomi reported approximately $2.62 million for Pro’s RL run and $850,000 for Flash’s, or about $3.47 million combined. 18
29
These figures should not be read as full model-development costs. The cited reporting says they cover the RL phase, while pretraining costs were not disclosed. 29 They are therefore useful evidence about one stage of post-training efficiency, not a complete account of what it took to create the models.
On September 10, Anthropic said it had identified and disrupted alleged unauthorized distillation campaigns targeting Claude that it attributed to seven China-based labs, including Xiaomi. Anthropic defines illicit distillation as an industrial-scale effort to extract a model’s capabilities and replicate them without authorization. 47
Reporting on the allegation says Xiaomi recorded conversations involving its MiMo models and submitted them to Claude to create training data. A secondary account of Anthropic’s report puts the Xiaomi activity at more than 400,000 requests across more than 1,500 accounts; it also says Anthropic did not observe Claude responses being served to live users. 44 Anthropic’s broader reported campaign figures are commonly described as roughly 190 million or nearly 200 million exchanges across several alleged operations.
33
38
These are allegations by Anthropic, not a judicial finding or an independent forensic audit. The available material does not establish that a particular MiMo-V2.6 checkpoint contains Claude-derived content, that any particular customer’s data was transmitted, or that a published benchmark was contaminated. Those distinctions matter.
Still, the allegations create real diligence questions:
MiMo-V2.6 is best treated as a pilot candidate, not an automatic strategic foundation, while provenance questions remain unresolved.
MiMo-V2.6 offers an unusually attractive combination: downloadable MIT-licensed weights, a claimed 1M-token multimodal context window, strong reported benchmark performance, and low published inference prices. Pro is the model to evaluate for maximum capability; Flash is the more economical option for broad experimentation. 3
20
23
But open availability is not the same as enterprise readiness. Until Xiaomi can provide satisfactory provenance, governance, and risk-allocation evidence, enterprises should value MiMo-V2.6 as a high-potential model family for controlled pilots—and require independent validation before committing sensitive or business-critical workloads.
Studio Global AI
This page includes a source-backed answer you can continue inside Studio Global.
MiMo V2.6 Pro is reported to lead the Artificial Analysis open weight ranking at 46.32, while Flash is priced at roughly one third of Pro’s token rates.
MiMo V2.6 Pro is reported to lead the Artificial Analysis open weight ranking at 46.32, while Flash is priced at roughly one third of Pro’s token rates. Pro has 1.02 trillion total parameters with 42 billion active per token; Flash has roughly 309 billion total and 15 billion active.
The sensible near term posture is controlled evaluation on non sensitive workloads—not an unqualified production standard—until model provenance, contractual protections, and independent evaluations meet an organizati...
MiMo V2.6 Pro is reported to lead the Artificial Analysis open weight ranking at 46.32, while Flash is priced at roughly one third of Pro’s token rates. Pro has 1.02 trillion total parameters with 42 billion active per token; Flash has roughly 309 billion total and 15 billion active.
Published byEdited with GPT-5.6 TerraImages generated with GPT Image 2
Research answer

Create a landscape editorial hero image for this Studio Global article: How did Xiaomi’s September 21–22, 2026 release of the MIT-licensed MiMo‑V2.6 open-weight multimodal models—Pro (1.02 trillion total/42 billi. Article summary: MiMo‑V2.6 is a technically significant open-weight release: Pro appears to be the strongest open-weight model on the available independent aggregate ranking, while Flash offers much of the capability at substantially low. Topic tags: general, general web, user generated, news. Style: premium digital editorial illustration, source-backed research mood, clean composition, high detail, modern web publication hero. Use reference image context only for broad subject, composition, and topical grounding; do not copy the exact image. Avoid: logos, brand marks, copyrighted characters, real person likenesses, fake screenshots, UI text, readable text, watermarks, charts w
Xiaomi’s MiMo-V2.6 release makes a serious case for open-weight AI in agentic and multimodal development. Its flagship Pro model combines a large sparse mixture-of-experts architecture with low published API rates, while Flash targets much lower-cost serving. Yet capability and licensing are only part of an enterprise decision: allegations that Xiaomi used Claude outputs in unauthorized distillation create unresolved questions about training-data provenance, legal exposure, and evaluation integrity.
Xiaomi published downloadable MiMo-V2.6-Pro-RL and MiMo-V2.6-Flash-RL checkpoints, with the repositories listing the MIT license. The company also released MiMo-V2.6-Distill-Qwen-9B, described as a 9B agentic model created by supervised fine-tuning of Qwen3.5-9B on MiMo-generated data. 2
4
5
The two larger models are presented as omnimodal systems that accept text, images, video, and audio, with a claimed context window of up to 1 million tokens. Pro is a sparse MoE model with 1.02 trillion total parameters and 42 billion activated per token. Flash has about 309 billion total parameters and 15 billion active per token. 3
MIT licensing gives users broad permission to use and modify the released artifacts. It does not, by itself, establish the provenance of every training input or synthetic output used upstream, nor does it resolve third-party IP or compliance claims.
Reports place MiMo-V2.6-Pro at 46.32 on Artificial Analysis’ Intelligence Index v4.3, level with Grok 4.7 in that reported comparison and at the top of the cited open-weight ranking. That is a meaningful external signal, but it remains a composite index rather than proof of performance on an organization’s own data, languages, latency constraints, safety policies, or long-context workloads. 23
24
Xiaomi’s own model materials also report strong coding and agent results. In the technical report’s DeepSWE v1.1 reinforcement-learning results, Pro’s average@3 score rose from 58.4 to 72.6, while Flash rose from 48.7 to 65.7. DeepSWE v1.1 covers 113 repository-engineering tasks evaluated with functional verifiers; average@3 is the average pass rate across three sampled attempts. 10
Those results are useful, but they should be interpreted as vendor-reported evidence until independently reproduced. A deployment decision should rely on blind testing against private holdouts and production-like tasks—not on a leaderboard alone.
| Model | Architecture scale | Published API price per 1M input tokens | Published API price per 1M output tokens | Practical role |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MiMo-V2.6-Pro | 1.02T total / 42B active | $0.435 | $0.87 | Highest-capability option for difficult agentic and engineering evaluation |
| MiMo-V2.6-Flash | About 309B total / 15B active | $0.14 | $0.28 | Higher-volume experimentation and cost-sensitive workloads |
The published Flash rates are roughly one-third of Pro’s rates for both fresh input and output tokens. 20 That makes Flash the practical first model to test when workload volume matters more than extracting the last increment of benchmark performance.
Self-hosting changes the calculation. Open weights can provide portability and tighter data control, but organizations must then absorb GPU capacity, storage, inference operations, monitoring, patching, and support costs. The lowest token price is not necessarily the lowest total cost of ownership.
The release included public checkpoints and a technical report. Reporting on Xiaomi’s disclosed reinforcement-learning runs says both large models completed 30 RL steps across roughly 750,000 trajectories. Xiaomi reported approximately $2.62 million for Pro’s RL run and $850,000 for Flash’s, or about $3.47 million combined. 18
29
These figures should not be read as full model-development costs. The cited reporting says they cover the RL phase, while pretraining costs were not disclosed. 29 They are therefore useful evidence about one stage of post-training efficiency, not a complete account of what it took to create the models.
On September 10, Anthropic said it had identified and disrupted alleged unauthorized distillation campaigns targeting Claude that it attributed to seven China-based labs, including Xiaomi. Anthropic defines illicit distillation as an industrial-scale effort to extract a model’s capabilities and replicate them without authorization. 47
Reporting on the allegation says Xiaomi recorded conversations involving its MiMo models and submitted them to Claude to create training data. A secondary account of Anthropic’s report puts the Xiaomi activity at more than 400,000 requests across more than 1,500 accounts; it also says Anthropic did not observe Claude responses being served to live users. 44 Anthropic’s broader reported campaign figures are commonly described as roughly 190 million or nearly 200 million exchanges across several alleged operations.
33
38
These are allegations by Anthropic, not a judicial finding or an independent forensic audit. The available material does not establish that a particular MiMo-V2.6 checkpoint contains Claude-derived content, that any particular customer’s data was transmitted, or that a published benchmark was contaminated. Those distinctions matter.
Still, the allegations create real diligence questions:
MiMo-V2.6 is best treated as a pilot candidate, not an automatic strategic foundation, while provenance questions remain unresolved.
MiMo-V2.6 offers an unusually attractive combination: downloadable MIT-licensed weights, a claimed 1M-token multimodal context window, strong reported benchmark performance, and low published inference prices. Pro is the model to evaluate for maximum capability; Flash is the more economical option for broad experimentation. 3
20
23
But open availability is not the same as enterprise readiness. Until Xiaomi can provide satisfactory provenance, governance, and risk-allocation evidence, enterprises should value MiMo-V2.6 as a high-potential model family for controlled pilots—and require independent validation before committing sensitive or business-critical workloads.
Studio Global AI
This page includes a source-backed answer you can continue inside Studio Global.
MiMo V2.6 Pro is reported to lead the Artificial Analysis open weight ranking at 46.32, while Flash is priced at roughly one third of Pro’s token rates.
MiMo V2.6 Pro is reported to lead the Artificial Analysis open weight ranking at 46.32, while Flash is priced at roughly one third of Pro’s token rates. Pro has 1.02 trillion total parameters with 42 billion active per token; Flash has roughly 309 billion total and 15 billion active.
The sensible near term posture is controlled evaluation on non sensitive workloads—not an unqualified production standard—until model provenance, contractual protections, and independent evaluations meet an organizati...