The Elec report, relayed by Wccftech, says Musk unsuccessfully sought fabs from Intel, TSMC and Micron before pursuing Terafab. Terafab’s reported goals include 100,000 wafers a month before 2030 and eventually one million a month; these are ambitions, not demonstrated production capacity.
Published byEdited with GPT-6 LunaImages generated with GPT Image 2
Research answer

Create a landscape editorial hero image for this Studio Global article: How did Elon Musk’s reported unsuccessful attempts to buy existing Intel, TSMC and Micron fabs—according to The Elec’s overseas equipment-su. Article summary: The reported sequence is a pivot from buying existing chipmaking capacity to building it: Wccftech’s October 20 account, citing The Elec, says Musk unsuccessfully sought fabs from Intel, TSMC and Micron before pursuing T. Topic tags: general, general web, news, user generated. Style: premium digital editorial illustration, source-backed research mood, clean composition, high detail, modern web publication hero. Use reference image context only for broad subject, composition, and topical grounding; do not copy the exact image. Avoid: logos, brand marks, copyrighted characters, real person likenesses, fake screenshots, UI text, readable text, watermarks, charts w
The reported story behind Terafab is a shift from trying to acquire existing chipmaking facilities to building new capacity in Grimes County, Texas. But that sequence comes from a media report, not disclosed acquisition documents, and it does not prove the unsuccessful approaches alone caused the project. The buildout’s headline figures are substantial; how the factory will be financed, operated and supplied is less clear. 35
Wccftech, citing Korean publication The Elec, reported that Musk had tried to acquire manufacturing facilities from Intel, TSMC and Micron before moving ahead with Terafab. The report also described a fast-forming supplier network. The acquisition account should be treated as reported, rather than as a publicly documented transaction history. 35
Terafab is planned for Grimes County, Texas. August reporting put the initial investment at $16.8 billion and the planned workforce at at least 3,000 people. 14 Those figures describe the project’s first phase, according to the same report; they should not automatically be read as the cost and staffing for every possible later phase.
There is also a separate investment figure in earlier reporting: Reuters reported in May that a SpaceX filing proposed an initial $55 billion investment for a Texas semiconductor facility. The available reports do not reconcile that figure with the later $16.8 billion first-phase announcement, so they should not be treated as interchangeable. 49
14
The reporting describes discussions with roughly 10 South Korean companies covering equipment, chemicals, piping systems and testing components. It also gives Terafab targets of 100,000 wafers per month before 2030 and up to one million per month within 10 years. These are reported goals—not evidence that the project has secured every supplier or can meet those production levels on that timetable. 8
The difference matters: a proposed factory and a developing supplier network are not the same as an operating high-volume foundry. The available reports do not establish that individual supplier contracts, production schedules or all required operating arrangements are finalized. 8
Musk has said Terafab plans to use Intel’s next-generation 14A process. Intel CEO Lip-Bu Tan later said Intel would remain involved, according to reporting on his comments. 42
51 Those developments indicate continued participation, but they do not by themselves spell out who will fund equipment, own production assets or manage the factory’s ramp-up.
A report on SpaceX’s May IPO filing described Terafab as a general framework and said Tesla and Intel were not obliged to remain involved. That caveat highlights the difference between a stated partnership and a fully specified, binding operating arrangement. 59
60
Musk has acknowledged discussions with TSMC, but the available reporting does not show an announced participation agreement. 3
13 The reported positions also leave an important question open: TSMC chief C.C. Wei said a fab resulting from the discussions would have to be run by TSMC, while Musk has said his companies would build and operate Terafab and described a possible TSMC role as subleasing part of the site.
3
13
50
Those statements do not establish that TSMC has accepted a sublease, or explain how any TSMC-operated facility would fit with the planned Intel 14A process. Until a specific agreement is announced, TSMC’s role remains a possibility under discussion—not a settled part of the project. 3
13
The reported failed acquisition approaches help explain why Terafab is being framed as a build-from-the-ground-up effort. But they do not confirm a complete account of Musk’s decision-making, nor do the project’s investment, job and wafer targets show that the factory is ready to deliver at scale. 35
8
14
For now, the clearest picture is of a Texas project with a stated first-phase investment, ambitious production goals, an Intel process role and ongoing TSMC discussions. The main unknowns remain practical ones: which commitments are binding, who pays for and operates the production equipment, and whether the supplier network can support the announced targets.
Studio Global AI
This page includes a source-backed answer you can continue inside Studio Global.
The Elec report, relayed by Wccftech, says Musk unsuccessfully sought fabs from Intel, TSMC and Micron before pursuing Terafab.
The Elec report, relayed by Wccftech, says Musk unsuccessfully sought fabs from Intel, TSMC and Micron before pursuing Terafab. Terafab’s reported goals include 100,000 wafers a month before 2030 and eventually one million a month; these are ambitions, not demonstrated production capacity.
Intel’s 14A process is part of the plan, while TSMC discussions have not produced a publicly announced participation agreement.
The Elec report, relayed by Wccftech, says Musk unsuccessfully sought fabs from Intel, TSMC and Micron before pursuing Terafab. Terafab’s reported goals include 100,000 wafers a month before 2030 and eventually one million a month; these are ambitions, not demonstrated production capacity.
Published byEdited with GPT-6 LunaImages generated with GPT Image 2
Research answer

Create a landscape editorial hero image for this Studio Global article: How did Elon Musk’s reported unsuccessful attempts to buy existing Intel, TSMC and Micron fabs—according to The Elec’s overseas equipment-su. Article summary: The reported sequence is a pivot from buying existing chipmaking capacity to building it: Wccftech’s October 20 account, citing The Elec, says Musk unsuccessfully sought fabs from Intel, TSMC and Micron before pursuing T. Topic tags: general, general web, news, user generated. Style: premium digital editorial illustration, source-backed research mood, clean composition, high detail, modern web publication hero. Use reference image context only for broad subject, composition, and topical grounding; do not copy the exact image. Avoid: logos, brand marks, copyrighted characters, real person likenesses, fake screenshots, UI text, readable text, watermarks, charts w
The reported story behind Terafab is a shift from trying to acquire existing chipmaking facilities to building new capacity in Grimes County, Texas. But that sequence comes from a media report, not disclosed acquisition documents, and it does not prove the unsuccessful approaches alone caused the project. The buildout’s headline figures are substantial; how the factory will be financed, operated and supplied is less clear. 35
Wccftech, citing Korean publication The Elec, reported that Musk had tried to acquire manufacturing facilities from Intel, TSMC and Micron before moving ahead with Terafab. The report also described a fast-forming supplier network. The acquisition account should be treated as reported, rather than as a publicly documented transaction history. 35
Terafab is planned for Grimes County, Texas. August reporting put the initial investment at $16.8 billion and the planned workforce at at least 3,000 people. 14 Those figures describe the project’s first phase, according to the same report; they should not automatically be read as the cost and staffing for every possible later phase.
There is also a separate investment figure in earlier reporting: Reuters reported in May that a SpaceX filing proposed an initial $55 billion investment for a Texas semiconductor facility. The available reports do not reconcile that figure with the later $16.8 billion first-phase announcement, so they should not be treated as interchangeable. 49
14
The reporting describes discussions with roughly 10 South Korean companies covering equipment, chemicals, piping systems and testing components. It also gives Terafab targets of 100,000 wafers per month before 2030 and up to one million per month within 10 years. These are reported goals—not evidence that the project has secured every supplier or can meet those production levels on that timetable. 8
The difference matters: a proposed factory and a developing supplier network are not the same as an operating high-volume foundry. The available reports do not establish that individual supplier contracts, production schedules or all required operating arrangements are finalized. 8
Musk has said Terafab plans to use Intel’s next-generation 14A process. Intel CEO Lip-Bu Tan later said Intel would remain involved, according to reporting on his comments. 42
51 Those developments indicate continued participation, but they do not by themselves spell out who will fund equipment, own production assets or manage the factory’s ramp-up.
A report on SpaceX’s May IPO filing described Terafab as a general framework and said Tesla and Intel were not obliged to remain involved. That caveat highlights the difference between a stated partnership and a fully specified, binding operating arrangement. 59
60
Musk has acknowledged discussions with TSMC, but the available reporting does not show an announced participation agreement. 3
13 The reported positions also leave an important question open: TSMC chief C.C. Wei said a fab resulting from the discussions would have to be run by TSMC, while Musk has said his companies would build and operate Terafab and described a possible TSMC role as subleasing part of the site.
3
13
50
Those statements do not establish that TSMC has accepted a sublease, or explain how any TSMC-operated facility would fit with the planned Intel 14A process. Until a specific agreement is announced, TSMC’s role remains a possibility under discussion—not a settled part of the project. 3
13
The reported failed acquisition approaches help explain why Terafab is being framed as a build-from-the-ground-up effort. But they do not confirm a complete account of Musk’s decision-making, nor do the project’s investment, job and wafer targets show that the factory is ready to deliver at scale. 35
8
14
For now, the clearest picture is of a Texas project with a stated first-phase investment, ambitious production goals, an Intel process role and ongoing TSMC discussions. The main unknowns remain practical ones: which commitments are binding, who pays for and operates the production equipment, and whether the supplier network can support the announced targets.
Studio Global AI
This page includes a source-backed answer you can continue inside Studio Global.
The Elec report, relayed by Wccftech, says Musk unsuccessfully sought fabs from Intel, TSMC and Micron before pursuing Terafab.
The Elec report, relayed by Wccftech, says Musk unsuccessfully sought fabs from Intel, TSMC and Micron before pursuing Terafab. Terafab’s reported goals include 100,000 wafers a month before 2030 and eventually one million a month; these are ambitions, not demonstrated production capacity.
Intel’s 14A process is part of the plan, while TSMC discussions have not produced a publicly announced participation agreement.